Association Bloom

TOTAL shame

TotalEnergies wants to destroy the ocean and the climate in South Africa.

Let’s stop the massacre while we can!

Mr. Patrick Pouyanné, CEO and Board Chair of TotalEnergies,

Where will you stop? 

The planet is burning. The IPCC climate scientists are warning us of the future of suffering that is awaiting us if we do not drastically reduce our CO2 emissions. The International Energy Agency declares that no new fossil fuel extraction projects should be built. The UN Secretary-General denounces the « moral and economic madness » of investing in new fossil fuels infrastructure. 

Yet you are set to ravage Uganda, Tanzania and other African countries. You destroy the boreal forests of Canada. You frack rocks and trash Argentina. You support antidemocratic petro-regimes. You violate human rights. 

And now, you are taking on the ocean and its incredible biodiversity

On 5 September 2022, you applied for a production license to exploit two huge gas fields buried more than 1,000 meters deep off the coast of South Africa, in an area with exceptionally rich and diverse marine life.

In defiance of the climate emergency, TotalEnergies is preparing to invest a minimum of three billion dollars to launch drilling operations in South African waters and extract one billion barrels of oil and gas. 

Three billion dollars that will accelerate the climate catastrophe and jeopardize our future. 

Three billion dollars that will devastate South Africa’s unique marine ecosystems and animals.

Three billion dollars that will threaten the food security of local people and the livelihoods of South African small-scale fishers. 

Mr. Pouyanné, abandon all new projects that will accelerate climate change and the collapse of biodiversity. Now.

South African waters are home to an exceptional biodiversity and form a « blue corridor » for many species: whales migrate there by the thousands. Endangered leatherback turtles, the world’s largest sea turtles, lay their eggs on South African beaches. Seals, penguins, albatrosses, petrels, cormorants, and Cape Gannets: you will destroy this entire ecosystem, and with it, a local economy and the livelihoods of thousands of small-scale fishers.

We, citizens of all ages and nations, ask you to listen to climate and biodiversity experts and to stop setting off another climate bomb in South Africa. 

Mr Pouyanné, if you persist in your morbid obsession with record profits, if you persist in your anti-ecological blindness, we will organize citizen resistance to prevent you from derailing the climate, trashing nature, destroying our future, and sacrificing youth. 

To destroy the ocean is to condemn us all. 

We will not let you do so.

STOP #OceanTotalDestruction

Sign here!
94 033 people have already signed

    Language

    *Required fields

    The information collected with your consent from this form is processed by computer in order to process your request. The recipients of the data are the members of BLOOM concerned by your request. Your data will remain strictly confidential. They will not be sold or exchanged in accordance with our privacy policy. You have the right to access, rectify and delete your data by writing to us.

Association Bloom

La honte « TOTAL »

TotalEnergies veut détruire l’océan et le climat en Afrique du Sud.

Empêchons le massacre !

Monsieur Patrick Pouyanné, PDG de TotalEnergies,

Où vous arrêterez-vous ?

La planète brûle. Les climatologues du GIEC alertent l’humanité sur l’avenir de souffrances qui nous est promis si nous ne réduisons pas drastiquement nos émissions de CO2. L’Agence internationale de l’énergie rappelle qu’aucun nouveau projet d’extraction d’énergies fossiles ne doit être construit. Le Secrétaire-général des Nations unies dénonce « la folie économique et morale » qui accompagne les investissements fossiles.

Mais vous, vous vous apprêtez à ravager l’Ouganda et la Tanzanie. Vous détruisez les forêts boréales du Canada. Vous fracturez les roches et saccagez l’Argentine. Vous soutenez les pétro-dictatures. Vous violez les droits humains.

Et maintenant, vous vous attaquez à l’océan et son incroyable biodiversité. Ce 5 septembre 2022, vous avez demandé une licence de production pour exploiter deux immenses champs gaziers enfouis à plus de 1000 mètres de profondeur au large de l’Afrique du Sud, dans une zone à la vie marine exceptionnellement riche et diversifiée.

Au mépris de l’urgence climatique, TotalEnergies s’apprête à investir au minimum trois milliards de dollars pour lancer des opérations de forage dans les eaux sud-africaines et y extraire un milliard de barils de pétrole et de gaz.

Trois milliards de dollars qui accéléreront la catastrophe climatique et mettront en péril notre avenir.

Trois milliards de dollars qui dévasteront les animaux marins et les écosystèmes exceptionnels d’Afrique du Sud.

Trois milliards de dollars qui menaceront la sécurité alimentaire des populations locales et les moyens de subsistance des pêcheurs artisanaux sud-africains.

Monsieur Pouyanné, abandonnez d’urgence votre projet climaticide qui va accélérer l’effondrement de la biodiversité.

Les eaux d’Afrique du Sud hébergent une biodiversité exceptionnelle et forment un « corridor bleu » pour de multiples espèces : les baleines y migrent par milliers. Les tortues luth, les plus grandes tortues marines au monde, menacées d’extinction, pondent leurs œufs sur les plages sud-africaines. Otaries, manchots, albatros, pétrels, cormorans et fous du Cap : c’est tout cet écosystème que vous allez détruire, et avec lui une économie locale et des milliers de petits pêcheurs.

Nous, citoyens de tous âges et de toutes nations, vous demandons d’écouter les experts du climat et de la biodiversité et de renoncer à déclencher une nouvelle bombe climatique en Afrique du Sud.

Monsieur Pouyanné, si vous persistez dans votre obsession morbide pour les profits records, si vous persistez dans votre aveuglement antiécologique, nous organiserons la résistance citoyenne pour vous empêcher de détraquer le climat, de détruire la nature, d’anéantir notre avenir et de sacrifier la jeunesse.

Détruire l’océan, c’est nous condamner collectivement.

Nous ne vous laisserons pas faire.

STOP #OceanTotalDestruction

 

Signez ici !
94 033 personnes ont déjà signé

    Langue de correspondance

    *Champs obligatoires

    Les informations recueillies avec votre consentement à partir de ce formulaire font l’objet d’un traitement informatique destiné à traiter votre demande. Les destinataires des données sont les membres de BLOOM concernés par votre demande. Vos données resteront strictement confidentielles. Elles ne seront ni vendues ni échangées conformément à notre politique de confidentialité. Vous disposez, en nous écrivant, à un droit d’accès, de rectification et de suppression des données vous concernant.